Contact and bookings via the U3A Hawthorn Office
(03) 9821 0282

For U3A Hawthorn Website click here

The orchestra began in mid-1997 as a very small group of musicians, several of whom had worked years before with George Logie-Smith, our first Director. From March 2000 we enjoyed the guidance of Christopher Martin, whose reputation attracted many more players, and we grew to some 55 members, including several ex-MSO members and many enthusiastic and skilled amateur musicians. Our conductors in 2023 are Simon Harvey, David Keeffe and Marie-Louise Wright. We give 3 concerts a year.

To read more of our history click here

See a video of our string quintet recorded 22 August 2015 click here


The Players

First Violin

Leader Jaynee Russell-Clarke
Pamela Fewster, Eve Gray, Eddy Lee, Karen Love, Omega Pott, Mangala Ruddy, Elizabeth Torrance, Mary-Helen Woods

Second Violin
Graeme Barker [Principal], Bibi Aickin, Loris Balderson, Margaret Brauer, Prue Brown, Gabriel De Figueiredo, Michael Stewart
Moira Yffer [Principal], Graeme Croft, Geoff Gloster


Warwick Dawson [Principal], Gina Cowling, Rick McQueen-Thomson, Marian Neal, Claire Sheppard, Keren Smith, Helen Wilkinson

Double Bass
Earle Hunter [Principal], Bill Clark, Sid Cowling, Alex Richardson
Flute & Piccolo
Mary Keusgen [Principal], Kathy Bennetts, Annette Sloan
Terry Smith [Principal], Charlotte Chidell

Heather Crockart [Principal], Phillip Norris

Barbara Trauer, Rob Weiss


French Horn
David Keeffe*, Brian Sorenson, Robyn Sorenson, Michele Hancock,
Jim Gardiner, Lyle Hoefer
George McClean
Naham Warhaft
Caroline Morrison
Roslyn Evans*, Felicity Pitcher*, Peter Robb*
* denotes guest players